11 comments on “Unattended Ubuntu install in a VM

  1. Pingback: Simple unattended Ubuntu install in a VM | Agile sysadmin

  2. Hello,
    I am very delighted with the way the unattended installation worked completely for me but it seems that newer iso images of ubuntu for example 13.10 saucy salamander version doesnt workout with that method is there a way to let it work?

    • Hi Tanios, I’m glad you found it useful!:) Nowadays I only use a simpler method described here. Maybe you would like to check that out until I figure out the ISO-way for more recent versions and update the post.

    • I was able to successfully create a QEMU image from latest ubuntu-13.10-server-amd64.iso by copy-pasting the steps in the post. If you still have a problem, feel free to post some more details (though if it’s long, you may want to use pastebin, gist or a similar service and just share the URL).

  3. Hello again,
    I am currently working on ubuntu 12.04.4 (amd64) fully automated installation but I am having a problem with my preseed file when trying to download additional packages. You may want to take a look at my preseed file and thanks for your help.

    http://pastebin.com/tKfkmBYk

    • Hi,

      I tried to modify ubuntu-12.04.4-server-amd64.iso using your preseed file. For me the installation stops during ‘Configuring tasksel’ on the ‘How do you want to manage upgrades on this system?’. It is because the answer for this question (pkgsel/update-policy) is missing from the preseed file. There’s a link in the post which points to the list of the preseed options for 12.04 (I just fixed the link from lts to 12.04). It’s usually worth checking that page first when the installer asks something new ;)

      It also helps if you can find or choose an ‘almost good’ preseed and then just add your custom d-i options to it. The install CD customization article, or searching for debian-installer docs in general could also be helpful sometimes.

      I hope this helps, happy installing! :)

  4. Hello,

    I modified my preseed file and it worked quite frankly thanks for the help. I am trying now to do the installation using NFS by creating two virtual machines on oracle virtual box between client and server. I just wanted to know if you have tried or post something related to this kind of installation because I searched for it I didn’t find any useful links

    • I’m glad it worked in the end! :) About NFS+VirtualBox: I’m afraid it isn’t totally clear what exactly you’re trying to achieve, but for quick provisioning of VirtualBox machines you might want to take a look at Vagrant and/or Rex/Boxes.

  5. I am trying to apply the automated installation on the network by creating two virtual machines server and client and try to run the automated installation of Ubuntu so that the client gets and boots the iso image from the server using NFS by this way the installation will be centralized and proceed on all clients without the use of a CD. I think a modification in the preseed file is required. Do you have any suggestions or something that you have posted that may be useful ?
    Thanks again.

    • I think you need to check out PXE, TFTP and DHCP topics in general in order to do that. You might also be interested in the cobbler and FAI (Fully Automatic Installation) projects. I don’t have direct experience with them, but Canonical/Ubuntu also has MAAS/Juju for bare-metal provisioning and orchestration. There’s also Rex.IO if you like to get your hands dirty and play with pre-alpha stuff :)

Leave a comment